1. Tirunelveli District was formed in 1790 by the East India company, later came under the direct control of the British Crown Queen Victoria.
  2. Tirunelveli District having geographical area of 6759 sq.kms
  3. The District has 3 Revenue Divisions consisting of 15 Taluks, 60 Firkas, 616 Revenue Villages, 19 Development Blocks and 425 Village Panchayats.
  4. The population of the District was 2723988 in 2001 Census and stood at 3077233 as per 2011 census.
  5. The Sex ratio is 1023 females for every 1000 males.
  6. The Literacy rate is 73.95% in the District as per 2011 census.
  7. There are 25 medium and major industries such as Cement, Cotton yarn, Calcium carbide, Sugar, Rice bran oil, Printing papers and flour Mill, Pin, Clip, Matches, Beedi rolling, Vessels making and Engineering industries etc.
  8. The surface water of the District is drained into major river basins like Thamiraparani, Vaippar, Nambiar and Hanuman Nathi. The other Streams which are seasonal in nature ie. Servallar, Manimuthar, Ramanathi, Pachaiyar, Chittar and Uppodai which are drain into the Tamiraparani river.
  9. The Courtallam is called as ‘Spa’ of South India.